beauty

Youtube Collabs, Worth Your Money?

It seems like there are always new products coming out.  Over the past few years, I’ve come to find several Youtube collaborations appearing.  I watch several Youtubers, and I certainly get sucked in.  Over the past year and a half or so, I’ve purchased several of the collaborations.  I thought I would give you my thoughts about how these collabs stand up to the normal quality of the brands!

I personally think it’s really cool that brands started collaborating with Youtubers.  It gives people that truly love and appreciate makeup a chance to create something special.  I think it’s a really neat idea.

unnamed

One of the most recent collabs to hit the scene is the Jaclyn Hill Palette from Morphe.  I am absolutely obsessed with this palette, and you can read my full review here.

Another release from Morphe came about in October 2016.  This was the Kathleenlights x Morphe palette.  These shades were selected by Kathleen and not handcrafted as the Jaclyn Hill palette was.  However, this was my second Morphe purchase, and is what made me fall in love with the brand.  I love the color selection in this palette, and feel like it’s perfect for Autumn, with its cranberry and green tones.  However, the mattes are what sold me.  They blend really nicely, and made me want to try out more from the brand.

I believe the Graveyardgirl (aka Bunny) Swamp Queen palette came out last Summer, but you can still get it on Tarte’s website!  This is an eye palette, and also includes a blush, bronzer, and highlight.  First of all this is some of my favorite packaging of all time; it is so cute!  The eyeshadows are nice; they do have some fall out but I don’t mind that.  I really enjoy the mix of warm golds and purples.  As for the face products, the blush is beautiful.  I do enjoy the highlight but I wish it wasn’t as glittery and chunky.  I love the color of the bronzer, however, it is just too pigmented.  If you don’t go in with a super light hand, it can become very muddy looking quick.

The Mannymua Makeup Geek palette came out last year I believe; I cannot remember for certain.  While it is discontinued, I have linked a damaged one you can purchase!  This palette is primarily made up of permanent Makeup Geek shadows.  Some of my favorites such as “Frappe” are included.  There are three or four specially created shadows for this palette.  I love the super warm tones included and I feel like I can create several looks with this palette.  I also love the size of this and have taken this palette with me to travel several times.

NikkieTutorials recently came out with a collaboration with Ofra.  You could buy the entire collection, or individual products.  I picked up the liquid lip in the shade “Coven.”  I saw the name and the color of this and I nearly died.  I live for Halloween (growing up by Salem, MA), and anything witchy.  The name was everything.  I also love 1990’s brown grunge shades, so I knew I had to have this.  This is more of a metallic finish, and I love how it appears on the lips, it’s perfect for Fall.  I haven’t gotten around to trying any other liquid lips from Ofra but this makes me want to!

Kathleenlights came out with one ultra matte and three ultra satins from Colourpop.  From left to right we have Point Zero (satin), Alyssa (satin), November (satin), and Lumiere 2 (matte).  I absolutely love the satins from Colourpop, and these do not disappoint.  Point Zero is a super unique color, as it’s a cool-toned brown.  I have nothing else like this in my collection and I love it for certain looks.  Both Alyssa and November are beautiful everyday colors.  I use these two constantly for natural days.  Lumiere 2 is the baby sister to the original Lumiere, which will be discussed below.  This is the ultra matte version.  I love this shade, it appears mauve on my lips, and it’s beautiful with several different looks.

Kathleen also released lippie sticks, which were her first launch with Colourpop.  From bottom to top, we have Taurus, Aquarius, and Lumiere.  If you have not tried the lippie sticks from Colourpop, you are missing out!  For five bucks a pop, they have tons of colors and I highly enjoy the quality.  Taurus is a beautiful, deep chocolate brown, again perfect for Fall.  Aquarius is a natural brown, and it works great with everyday looks.  Finally, Lumiere is a similar shade to it’s baby sister.  This is again a mauve, purple-toned shade.  It is truly beautiful and I highly recommend these!

Finally, we have Jaclyn Hill’s collaboration with Becca.  First she came out with the cult classic, Champagne Pop.  Since the champagne-toned highlighter did so well, the brand released a whole collection.  I purchased the face palette.  It came with the classic shade, and also a new highlight, “Prosecco Pop.”  I actually prefer this, it’s more of a true gold.  The palette also came with three blushes, Pamplemousse, Amaretto, and Rose Spritz.  These were the first blushes from Becca I have tried, and I am dying to try more.  They go on super smoothy.  In addition, the Becca highlights are some of my favorites.

Do you guys get sucked into these releases?  I know I love them!

Until next time!

xoxox

SaveSaveSaveSaveSaveSave

4 thoughts on “Youtube Collabs, Worth Your Money?”

Leave a Reply

