beauty

Favorite Summer Palettes

Honestly I don’t understand how July is flying by.  While I’m literally dying for fall and will put up Halloween decorations in August, I feel like I still need to squeeze out more Summer!  I’ve only hit the beach once!  Today I wanted to talk about my favorite Summer palettes.

I will say, I tend not to wear as much makeup in the Summer.  However, because I am a makeup junkie, I do wear a full face at least three to four times a week, if not more.  So don’t you worry, my collection gets some love.  Eyeshadow palettes are one of my obsessions and there are certainly some I gravitate more towards in the Summer.

Colourpop Blow Me Away Quad: Okay, so although I bought this as a quad, I threw these shadows into one of my Zpalettes.  However, I’ve been using this combo of shadows literally alllllllll the time.  First of all, if you haven’t tried Colourpop’s pressed shadows, open up a new tab immediately and go try some.  They’re five bucks a pop and the quality is really great! These four colors are phenomenal though.  The one metallic is “Take a Break,” and it’s basically a better version of MAC’s “All That Glitters.”  I’ve been using it all over the lid for a bronzed touch.  The next shade, “Issues” is very similar to Makeup Geek’s “Peach Smoothie” but, I love this one so much more.  It’s more peach toned and vibrant, it’s become why new favorite transition shade.  I’ve made such a dent, I’ve already bought a backup!  The next shade is “Centerfold” and it’s a matte neon peach.  I’ve enjoyed popping this and the last shade, “Slim Fit” (a matte neon orange-red) into the crease to really create a Summery eye.  I personally pull in a warm toned brown just to really deepen the crease, but this palette has truly been my favorite thing this summer.  In fact, the whole nectar collection has been one of my favorite launches!  The super shock shadow “Flipper” and the pressed face palettes are also favorites.

 

Tarte Rainforest of the Sea (“Limited Edition” – It’s still kicking around Sephora’s website): When this palette came out last year, a lot of people were unimpressed.  I however, have really enjoyed this palette.  If I want a super glam look, I would never reach for this.  There are only two matte shades and then all shimmers/metallics.  However, I love this for traveling and low-key Summer days.  This palette is a very different formula than Tarte’s other products.  The shadows are a gel-like consistency and make them super easy to glide on to the eye.  I typically don’t create eye looks with too much dimension with this palette, but it’s something I reach for on the regular in the Summer for a quick wash of color on the eyes.  It’s neutral and perfect for subtle looks.

 

Anastasia Shadow Couture World Traveler (Limited Edition):  This little guy holds such a big place in my heart.  This was limited edition but most shadows housed in this palette are part of Anastasia’s permanent collection, so you will be able to find them.  This was one of the first high end palettes I ever purchased.  More importantly, this is what caused me to fall in love with warm toned shadows.  I was so scared at first to use “Morocco,” but once I attempted, I fell in love with warm toned eyes and I have never looked back.  I love this palette for it’s peachy neutrals and pops of color.  It’s perfect for day or night looks, and I find myself grabbing for it most often in the Summertime.

 

Too Faced Sweet Peach:  I feel like this palette is the most drama filled thing in my collection.  When this first launched as limited edition, people were so angry that this sold out!  I personally did not get mine until Christmastime so I’ve been really enjoying this palette in the Spring and Summer months.  Some people think Too Faced is going down the tubes, but I disagree.  When people hated their holiday collection, I absolutely loved their “Merry Macaron” palette.  I think it’s all about preference and I’ve been a Too Faced fan since my junior year of high school.  Anyways, if you couldn’t tell from my description of the Colourpop quad, I’m obsessed with peach tones.  This palette clearly doesn’t lack, plus it smells like peaches.  It’s heaven.  My one complaint with this palette is that I wish there were more mattes, but you can still obtain a full look with the Sweet Peach.  I personally recommend and I find it similar to the “Chocolate Bar” palette formula.

 

Lorac Pro 3:   Now, I agree that this is not formulated as well as the first and second Lorac Pros.  However, this is my favorite color scheme (not including the Mega Pro 3).  The earthy tones are so great for Summer.  When I want natural and light face makeup, this is a palette I always reach for.  I find that it enhances the eyes without making them the focal point, which is perfect for a quick Summer look.  In addition, I literally live for the amount of transition shades included in this palette.

 

Morphe 35OM:  I wish I had purchased the original 35O.  But alas, I purchased this when I was in my “I have super hooded eyes so I’m convinced I can only wear mattes” phase. *eye roll*  Anyways, I still get a great deal of use of this palette.  I love pairing this with Colourpop super shock shadows on the lid, or the Morphe 12S, an all shimmer palette.  This palette is fantastic as it holds both cool and warm browns.  But, the real reason I love this palette is for the reds and oranges.  It screams sunset to me, and there’s countless looks to be made.

 

Summertime to me means relaxing, having fun, and using some bright colors!  These are personally my favorite palettes for the Summer season.  What are your favorites, and do you cycle through your makeup based on the season?

Until next time!

xoxox

2 thoughts on “Favorite Summer Palettes”

    1. There are a few that I don’t love (greens and blues which are typically hard) but I love the formula!! I love my colourpop and makeup geek over my MAC!

Leave a Reply

