beauty

Jaclyn Hill Palette – Worth the Hype?

unnamed-1

I’m going to start this post with a few disclaimers:

1.) Yes – I’m aware of the hype surrounding this palette.

2.) Some people think Youtuber collaborations are never good – I will be shortly posting a whole article on this topic.  I am a fan of Jaclyn but if the palette wasn’t great, I’d let you know!

3.) While I am a fan of Morphe, they’re not my number one brand.  I love the palettes I own but I would never go as far to call them my favorite.

Now that those are out of the way, I’m just going to say I am IN LOVE with this palette.  First of all, the packaging is beautiful.  While white packaging obviously gets trashed pretty quickly, I kind of love it.  It reminds my of my Lorac Mega Pro 3.  I personally love when my palettes look used, as it seems like they are loved.

unnamed-2

The palette is currently sold out, however it will be re-stocked.  I waited for about thirty minutes to check out when purchasing during the launch, it sold out in about forty minutes. It retails for $38.00 and you can always find Morphe affiliate codes (and of course Jaclyn’s) all over Youtube if you want to save some money.

The actual color layout of this palette is phenomenal.  First of all you have a ton of warm tones.  I live for a warm eye and this palette doesn’t disappoint.  However, there are pops of purple and teal that are beautiful.  I feel like you have almost everything in this palette : warms, cools, pops of color and smokey tones.  My one complaint is that for my fair skin, there is no good cream or white shade to set down my primer.  Nevertheless, I have enough shadows in my collection to use in conjunction, or I can always use a setting powder.

Now for the actual formulation.  This took Jaclyn two years to create.  Each shade was formulated differently.  I personally think it shows.  The mattes are super blend-able as well as pigmented.  What I’m even more impressed with is the pigmentation of the metallics.  I typically enjoy Morphe’s shimmers over their mattes, but I feel like these metallics are even superior to their typical shadows. I used the bright teal the other day and did not need to apply a setting spray at all to wet the brush.  The eye appeared foiled without being wet.  You will be able to see in my swatches just how concentrated and pigmented the shadows are.  I will also add that the mattes perform better than they swatch!

unnamed

These will be swatched from left to right, seven across for five rows!

Enlight, Beam, Silk Creme, M.F.E.O, Faint, Sissy, Little Lady

unnamed-3

Creamsicle, Butter, Pooter, Pukey, Hunts, Firework, Queen

unnamed-4

Obsessed, S.B.N, Hillster, Roxanne, Jacz, Buns, Cranapple

unnamed-5

Royalty, Twerk, Hustle, Meeks, 24/7, Chip, Mocha

unnamed-6

Pool Party, Jada, Diva, Enchanted, Central Park, Soda Pop, Abyss

unnamed-7

I also included a side by side comparison of the Jaclyn Hill palette and the 35OM as some people have voiced that they felt it was basically a copy of the 35O (I don’t own the original to compare it to, only the matte version).  I personally feel as though they are both pretty different!

unnamed-8

I totally recommend this palette and I hope you can get your hands on it!

Until next time!

xoxox

6 thoughts on “Jaclyn Hill Palette – Worth the Hype?”

  1. Thanks for the swatches. I am so incredibly conflicted about this product. I know I had lots of other shadows that would dupe out this entire thing almost, but the purple and the blue shades are really calling to me. My issue is two fold, my friend did a video on it, and she REALLY didn’t like the coloured shadows. They were patchy and had crazy fall out through the day, and when you watch her apply them, it just doesnt go well. The second is it’s the equivalent of a million dollars to get this baby to Canada.

    Sigh. The price we pay for free healthcare.

    1. That’s the worst about the price! But I could see fall out being an issue. I’m someone who really likes powdery shadows with kick up so I don’t mind the fall out too much, I always do my eyes first. I can totally see how the fall out would bother people. I seriously love pool party though I wore it the other night and didn’t use fix plus to apply it or anything. I’ve yet to try the deep blue and purple on the eyes yet though!

Leave a Reply

